Revitalization to Counter a Scarcity of Suitable Land

Logistics is indispensable when it comes to supplying people with their daily necessities, and logistics in close proximity to consumers helps avoid unnecessary traffic and ensure the flow of goods. As the logistics sector grows, the demand for quality logistics facilities increases, but in some regions—such as Hamburg, Rhine-Ruhr, Rhine-Main and Munich—suitable land is limited, especially when businesses in the e-commerce sector require facilities in excess of 20,000 square meters.

Revitalizing brownfields is often the only way to build modern logistics facilities in the right locations. At the same time, using industrial wasteland is a sustainable solution that conserves resources. Consequently, in the era of booming e-commerce and the related demand for logistics facilities, we are focused on revitalizing former industrial sites. In addition, we evaluate whether we can convert existing properties and whether they meet our requirements for the logistics buildings of the future after the conversion measures. In order to identify suitable brownfields and existing properties with potential, we look at locations from a completely different perspective. We follow our vision of sustainability not only in Germany, but worldwide with our expertise and local knowledge about brownfield development.

Prologis Park Moissy

We Enable Growth

As a leading developer of logistics facilities, Prologis owns many million square meters of warehouse space worldwide. Our facilities are almost at full capacity, thanks to loyal customers who extend their leases and expand into coveted logistics hot spots. With brownfield development projects, we can provide our customers with high-quality facilities situated at important hubs. These areas have access to a qualified workforce and a well-developed infrastructure that allows for short-range processes.

Prologis Brownfield Development Dortmund

A Sustainable Solution

Land is scarce and valuable, especially in metropolitan areas, and awareness about the environment and its limited resources is on the rise in both society and business. As a result, attention is shifting toward sustainable logistics facilities that conserve resources. By developing brownfield sites, Prologis is breathing new life into unused industrial areas and creating space for logistics, jobs and regional supplies. Brownfield sites allow us to develop in a sustainable manner that does not seal new soil and allows critical land needed for residential purposes and green space to be left alone.

Press Release - Research a

We Know the Ideal Location

Our in-house research team carries out sound analyses of current developments, such as changing supply chains or the rapid growth of e-commerce and its effects on the logistics sector. We know what locations are particularly sought after and which will experience strong development during the growth of the European logistics market.

Our top locations analysis shows five key factors are crucial in the choice of a site: proximity to major consumption centers, regulatory environments, labor availability, transportation infrastructure and total costs.

Revitalisierung gegen Flächenknappheit

Logistik ist unverzichtbar für die Versorgung jedes Einzelnen. Eine verbrauchernahe Logistik hilft, unnötige Verkehre zu vermeiden und Warenströme sicherzustellen. Mit dem Wachstum der Logistikbranche steigt auch die Nachfrage nach hochwertigen Logistikimmobilien kontinuierlich. Dabei sind gerade für Unternehmen aus dem E-Commerce-Bereich große Immobilien mit weit über 20.000 Quadratmetern notwendig. Doch in Regionen wie Hamburg, Rhein-Ruhr, Rhein-Main oder München ist die Auswahl an geeigneten Grundstücken begrenzt.

Die Revitalisierung von Brownfields ist meist die einzige Möglichkeit, moderne Logistikimmobilien an den richtigen Standorten zu errichten. Gleichzeitig ist die Nutzung von Industriebrachen eine nachhaltige, ressourcenschonende Lösung. In Zeiten des boomenden E-Commerce und der damit verbundenen steigenden Nachfrage nach Logistikimmobilien setzen wir daher verstärkt auf die Revitalisierung alter Industrieareale. Zudem prüfen wir, ob wir bestehende Immobilien umnutzen können und sie nach den Umbaumaßnahmen unserem Anspruch an die Logistikimmobilien von morgen gerecht werden. Um zu identifizieren, welche Brownfields und bestehenden Immobilien Potenzial haben, betrachten wir Standorte aus einem ganz anderen Blickwinkel. Mit unserem Know-how und lokalem Wissen über Brownfield-Entwicklung verfolgen wir unsere Nachhaltigkeitsvision nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern weltweit.

Prologis Park Moissy

Wir ermöglichen Wachstum

Als führender Entwickler von Logistikimmobilien verfügt Prologis über viele Millionen Quadratmeter Flächen weltweit. Unsere Immobilien sind fast komplett ausgelastet – auch dank treuer Kunden, die ihre Mietverträge verlängern und an gefragten Logistik-Hotspots weiter wachsen möchten. Mit Brownfield-Entwicklungen bieten wir unseren Kunden begehrte Logistikimmobilien an wichtigen Knotenpunkten. Hier sind nicht nur Arbeitskräfte, sondern auch eine gut ausgebaute Infrastruktur vorhanden, die kurze Wege ermöglicht. Faktoren, die für die Logistik entscheidend sind.

Prologis Brownfield Entwicklung Dortmund

Nachhaltige Lösung

Das Bewusstsein für Umweltverträglichkeit und begrenzte Ressourcen ist gestiegen – in der Gesellschaft und der Wirtschaft. Land ist knapp und wertvoll, vor allem in unseren Metropolregionen. Ressourcenschonende und nachhaltige Logistikimmobilien rücken damit in den Fokus. Mit der Entwicklung von Brownfields füllt Prologis ungenutzte Industrieflächen mit neuem Leben. So schaffen wir Raum für Logistik, für Arbeitsplätze und die Versorgung der Region – nachhaltig, ohne zusätzliche Flächen zu versiegeln. Wertvolle Grundstücke bleiben bestehen, die dringend für Wohnraum und als Grünflächen benötigt werden.

Press Release - Research a

Wir kennen den optimalen Standort

Unser internes Research-Team erstellt fundierte Analysen zu aktuellen Entwicklungen – z.B. sich wandelnde Supply Chains sowie das rasante Wachstum des E-Commerce-Sektors und seine Auswirkungen auf die Logistikimmobilienbranche. Wir wissen, welche Standorte besonders begehrt sind und welche Standorte sich angesichts des Wandels im europäischen Logistikmarkt sehr gut entwickeln.

Unsere Top-Locations-Analyse hat ergeben, dass fünf Hauptfaktoren ausschlaggebend für die Standortwahl sind: die Nähe zu wichtigen Verbrauchszentren, das behördliche Umfeld, die Verfügbarkeit von qualifizierten Arbeitskräften, die Verkehrsinfrastruktur und die Gesamtkosten.