Belt and Road

More than 2000 years ago, the Silk Road linked eastern China with the Mediterranean in the ancient world’s longest and most storied overland trade route. Today, a confident China is constructing the 21st century equivalent, designed to ensure the efficient movement of goods between east and west.

The Belt and Road initiative (One Belt, One Road or OBOR) isn’t a single project. Rather, it’s a comprehensive strategy to make the global supply chain more efficient. Robust maritime routes will connect China with Southeast Asia, India and the Middle East. Direct rail will link China and Russia to the Middle East and Western Europe. Rail moves goods far more cheaply than by air and is twice as fast as shipping containers by sea. In January 2017, the first China-UK freight train arrived in London, covering 7,500 miles in 18 days from Yiwu in eastern China.

The projects that together comprise belt and road – railroads, roads, tunnels, terminals, ports plus power plants and pipelines in 60+ countries – have the potential to turbocharge already robust trade between China and the EU. Beyond facilitating trade, belt and road will spur development and investment all along its route.

Prologis, the world’s largest owner and operator of industrial real estate with logistics facilities adjacent to key railway and shipping nodes in both Europe and China, will play a vital role in facilitating the flow of goods along belt and road. In important logistics markets as disparate as Wuhan and Xi’an China, the Rhine-Ruhr area in Germany and the Midlands in the UK, Prologis offers state-of-the-art logistics facilities with easy access to the Belt and Road infrastructure

Belt and Road Route

Rail Connected Logistics Space

Data as of September 30, 2017 for assets the company owned or had investments in, on a wholly owned basis or through co-investment ventures, properties and development projects.

Prologis Contacts

Henk Folmer
Senior Vice President Global Customer Solutions – Europe
+31 (0)6 46 088 980
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Dallas Zhang
Vice President Global Customer Solutions – China
+86 1801 7085 866
Shanghai, China

Belt and Road

Vor über 2.000 Jahren verlief mit der sagenumwobenen Seidenstraße der längste Landhandelsweg der Welt vom Osten Chinas bis zum Mittelmeer. Auf Initiative eines selbstbewussten Chinas entsteht heute ein modernes Pendant zu der antiken Handelsroute, um den effizienten Güterverkehr zwischen Ost und West sicherzustellen.

Die Belt and Road Initiative („One Belt, One Road“ oder kurz OBOR) ist kein Einzelprojekt. Vielmehr handelt es sich um eine umfassende Strategie mit dem Ziel, die globale Lieferkette weiter zu optimieren. Stabile Seewege sollen China mit Südostasien, Indien und dem Nahen Osten verbinden, direkte Schienenwege von China und Russland in den Nahen Osten und nach Westeuropa führen. Der Schienengüterverkehr ist wesentlich günstiger als Luftfracht und doppelt so schnell wie die Containerverschiffung über den Seeweg. Im Januar 2017 fuhr der erste Frachtzug aus China in London ein – er legte die 12.000 Kilometer von Yiwu im Osten Chinas in 18 Tagen zurück.

Die verschiedenen Infrastrukturprojekte der Neuen Seidenstraße – Schienen, Straßen, Tunnel, Terminals, Häfen sowie Kraftwerke und Pipelines in über 60 Ländern – bieten großes Potential, den ohnehin schon blühenden Handel zwischen China und Europa stark anzutreiben. Jedoch wird die Belt and Road Initiative nicht nur den Handel fördern, auch die Entwicklung und Investitionen entlang der Route werden begünstigt.

Prologis, der weltweit führende Eigentümer und Betreiber von Industrieimmobilien, verfügt über Logistikanlagen in unmittelbarer Nähe zu wichtigen Verkehrsknotenpunkten in Europa und China. Damit wird Prologis eine entscheidende Rolle in der Förderung des Güterflusses entlang der Neuen Seidenstraße spielen. Prologis bietet moderne Logistikanlagen mit leichtem Zugang zur Infrastruktur der Neuen Seidenstraße auf wichtigen Logistikmärkten wie Wuhan und Xi’an in China, die deutsche Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr oder die englischen Midlands.

Belt and Road - Die Neue Seidenstraße

Logistikflächen mit Schienenanbindung

Die Daten beziehen sich auf Liegenschaften, die Prologis auf konsolidierter Basis oder durch nicht konsolidierte Joint Ventures, über Anteile an Immobilien und Entwicklungsprojekte zum 30. September 2017 besaß.

Kontakt

Henk Folmer
Senior Vice President Global Customer Solutions – Europe
+31 (0)6 46 088 980
Amsterdam, Niederlande
Dallas Zhang
Vice President Global Customer Solutions – China
+86 1801 7085 866
Shanghai, China