Christina Deuß, Capital Deployment Manager at Prologis: It's All About the Customers

Christina Deuß, Capital Deployment Manager at Prologis

Christina
Deuß
Capital Deployment Manager

Düsseldorf, Germany

It all started back during her school days: At the age of 17, Christina Deuß worked with Prologis for the first time as part of a temporary project involving the digitization of auditing documents. In 2011, when the head of property management was looking for support with utility cost accounting, among other things, Deuß took interested and kept the part-time job until she graduated from high school.

What made more sense than continuing to work for Prologis after graduating? In August 2013, she started her apprenticeship as a real estate manager in Düsseldorf, Germany. “An apprentice was something completely new for Prologis in Germany at the time,” says Deuß. “First of all, we had to clarify with the Chamber of Industry and Commerce and our European headquarters in Amsterdam whether it was even possible to provide the training and how it would be structured. Today, training young talent—whether as trainee, apprentice or dual student—is an integral part of Prologis.”

She began a challenging time with busy days. Commuting from her hometown of Neuss, Deuß worked at the Prologis office in Düsseldorf some days and attended trade school at the European Business Center in Bochum (a university of applied sciences that specializes in real estate) on others. After work, she rode the streetcar to the horse stable in southern Düsseldorf. At Prologis, she got to know various departments, which included three weeks in the accounting department in Amsterdam. Deuß liked the training so much that she accepted an offer to stay with Prologis to work in the leasing department.

When her supervisor left the company, Prologis trusted Deuß to manage the job on her own. “I really learned a lot, being thrown in at the deep end,“ she says. “Of course it was a great vote of confidence that I was allowed to take on responsibility for our nationwide leasing activities.” Earlier, she had discussed with an HR manager and her supervisor where she saw herself in five years—and the plan came to fruition when her position as leasing coordinator turned into leasing manager. And in 2019, she became market officer for the west of Germany. (A position now called capital deployment manager.)

The fact that Deuß has been part of the industry for over 10 years and still with Prologis is appreciated by customers. “After all, to be in a position like this as a 28 year old is rather unusual in the logistics real estate industry,” she says. “Customers trust my experience. And the better I know them, the better I can support them.” In addition to working with existing customers, acquiring new ones is an integral part of her job. Brokers play an important role here. The capital deployment team is happy to present projects that have already been implemented and innovative customer solutions to prospective customers. If a lease agreement for a new construction project comes about, it is important for Deuß to get to know the customers well and understand their needs. “They are often very proud of their logistics activities and happy to talk about their plans for the new facility,” she explains.

Brokers are also on hand to advise the capital deployment team in its search for land and existing facilities. Good contacts with municipalities, economic development agencies and private owners are important. “And sometimes properties turn up that we didn't even have on our radar,” Deuß says. “On a property tour with a colleague, we drove past a building we liked. Right on the spot, I inquired about the owner and established contact. This cold call was not immediately successful, but two years later the owner contacted me again and expressed interest in selling one of his other buildings.”

First Project: The Focus Is on People
Her first dedicated new construction project as a capital deployment manager was a speculative real estate development in Datteln in the Ruhr region. It was the first logistics facility to meet the WELL Building Standard in Germany. The aim is to create a pleasant and healthy working environment for the client's employees. “Our colleagues in the Netherlands showed us the way with a WELL Building project in Tilburg,” she says. “Together with the Dutch project manager, Arthur van Kooij, we checked the feasibility for Datteln and were able to implement the project. I had a particularly high standard for my first major project. In 50 years, I still want people to say: ‘What a great facility.’ But, of course, this standard also applies to all other projects.”

The job also took her to the U.S. As part of an internal project on customer relationship management, she attended a two-day workshop in New Jersey. “I took advantage of the opportunity and added five days of vacation in New York,” she says. “It was a great experience with a special highlight: I went to see a New York Yankees game with a Spanish colleague.” Another highlight of her career was a lecture at Lake Tegern by Peter Bofinger, a former economics adviser for the German government, followed by dinner. Prologis had invited customers to a classic car rally from Munich to Lake Tegern, which took place the day before the transport logistic 2017 trade fair.
 
Networking Desired
So far in her job development, spontaneity, flexibility and reliability have been particularly helpful. “The logistics real estate industry is a people business,” she says. “Networking and approaching people are important—not only when meeting existing and new customers, but also when looking for properties.” The Prologis team likes to take the opportunity to establish contacts at trade fairs, especially at evening events, away from the daily work routine. “There's a different atmosphere then,” says Deuß. “Informal and spontaneous conversations with customers and brokers often result in creative solutions. This relaxed exchange is important in the industry.”

What else does she appreciate about Prologis? The company has developed continuously over the past few years, becoming more modern and placing great value on innovative, sustainable solutions entirely in the interests of its customers. “Our team is open-minded and ready for new things,” Deuß says. “The flat hierarchies simplify work and cooperation. It is explicitly desired to express one's own opinion. I'm grateful that Prologis gives me the opportunity to develop, and I'm excited about the next 10 years.”

Christina Deuß, Capital Deployment Manager bei Prologis: Alles dreht sich um die Kunden

Christina Deuß, Capital Deployment Manager bei Prologis

Christina
Deuß
Capital Deployment Manager

Düsseldorf, Deutschland

Es begann bereits in der Schulzeit: Mit 17 Jahren war Christina Deuß das erste Mal für Prologis im Einsatz, im Rahmen eines zeitlich begrenzten Projekts, bei dem es um die Digitalisierung der Revisionsunterlagen ging. Als dann 2011 der damalige Head of Property Management auf der Suche unter anderem nach Unterstützung bei den Nebenkostenabrechnungen war, hatte Christina Deuß Interesse – und machte diesen Nebenjob bis zum Abitur.

Was lag da näher, als nach dem Abitur weiter für Prologis zu arbeiten. Im August 2013 startete sie ihre Ausbildung zur Immobilienkauffrau in Düsseldorf. „Ein Azubi war damals etwas komplett Neues für Prologis in Deutschland“, sagt Christina Deuß. „Erstmal musste mit der zuständigen IHK und unserem Europa-Headquarter in Amsterdam geklärt werden, ob es überhaupt möglich ist auszubilden und wie die Ausbildung strukturiert wird. Heute ist das Ausbilden junger Talente, ob als Trainee, Azubi oder Dualer Student, ein fester Bestandteil bei Prologis.“

Eine herausfordernde Zeit mit vollgepackten Tagen begann: Gebürtig aus Neuss, pendelte Christina Deuß von dort aus in das Büro von Prologis in Düsseldorf, an Berufsschultagen zum EBZ Bochum, und nach Feierabend mit der Straßenbahn zum Reitstall in den Düsseldorfer Süden. Bei Prologis lernte sie verschiedene Abteilungen kennen, verbrachte unter anderem drei Wochen in der Buchhaltung in Amsterdam. Die Ausbildung hat ihr so gut gefallen, dass sie danach das Angebot annahm, bei Prologis zu bleiben und in der Bestandsvermietung zu arbeiten.

Als ihr damaliger Chef das Unternehmen verließ, vertraute Prologis darauf, dass Christina Deuß den Job auch alleine schafft. „Dadurch, dass ich ins kalte Wasser geworfen wurde, habe ich wahnsinnig viel gelernt“, sagt sie. „Es war natürlich ein großer Vertrauensbeweis von Prologis, dass ich Verantwortung für die bundesweite Bestandsvermietung übernehmen durfte.“ Mit der HR-Verantwortlichen und ihrem Vorgesetzten hatte sie damals besprochen, wo sie sich in fünf Jahren sieht – und der Plan ist aufgegangen. Auf die Position des Leasing Coordinators folgte die des Leasing Managers. 2019 wurde sie schließlich Market Officer für Westdeutschland – heute nennt sich diese Funktion Capital Deployment Manager.

Dass Christina Deuß inzwischen über zehn Jahre „Teil der Branche“ und nach wie vor bei Prologis ist, wissen auch die Kunden zu schätzen. „Als 28-Jährige ist eine Position wie diese doch eher untypisch in der Logistikimmobilienbranche“, sagt sie. „Die Kunden vertrauen auf meine Erfahrung – und je besser ich sie kenne, desto besser kann ich sie beraten.“ Neben der Betreuung der Bestandskunden ist auch die Neukundenakquisition ein wichtiger Teil ihres Jobs. Viel läuft hier über Makler. Gern stellt das Capital Deployment Team den Interessenten bereits umgesetzte Projekte und innovative Kundenlösungen vor. Kommt ein Mietvertrag für ein Neubauprojekt zustande, ist es für Christina Deuß wichtig, die Kunden in intensiven Gesprächen genau kennenzulernen und ihre Bedürfnisse zu verstehen. „Sie sind oft sehr stolz auf ihre Logistikaktivitäten und erzählen gerne von ihren Plänen für die neue Immobilie“, erklärt sie.

Bei der Suche nach Grundstücken und Bestandsimmobilien stehen die Makler dem Capital Deployment Team ebenfalls beratend zu Seite. Wichtig sind auch gute Kontakte zu Gemeinden, Wirtschaftsförderungen und Privateigentümern. „Und manchmal tauchen Grundstücke auf, die wir gar nicht auf dem Schirm hatten“, erinnert sich Christina Deuß. „Auf einer Property Tour mit einem Kollegen sind wir an einer Immobilie vorbeigefahren, die uns gefiel. Direkt vor Ort habe ich mich nach dem Eigentümer erkundigt und Kontakt aufgenommen. Diese Kaltakquise war zwar nicht sofort erfolgreich, aber zwei Jahre später hat sich der Eigentümer wieder bei mir gemeldet und Interesse signalisiert, eine seiner anderen Immobilien zu verkaufen.“

Erstes Projekt: der Mensch im Mittelpunkt
Ihr erstes „eigenes“ Neubauprojekt als Capital Deployment Managerin war eine spekulative Immobilienentwicklung in Datteln im Ruhrgebiet – und die erste Logistikimmobilie nach WELL Building-Standard in Deutschland. Ziel dieses Standards ist es, ein angenehmes und gesundes Arbeitsumfeld für die Mitarbeiter der Kunden zu schaffen „Unsere Kollegen in den Niederlanden hatten es uns mit dem WELL Building-Projekt in Tilburg vorgemacht“, erzählt sie. „Wir haben gemeinsam mit dem niederländischen Projektleiter Arthur van Kooij die Machbarkeit für Datteln geprüft und konnten das Vorhaben umsetzen. Bereits an mein erstes großes Projekt hatte ich einen ganz besonders hohen Anspruch, die Leute sollen auch nach 50 Jahren noch sagen: ‚Was für eine tolle Immobilie‘. Dieser Anspruch gilt aber natürlich auch für alle anderen Projekte.“

Der Job führte sie auch in die USA: Im Rahmen eines internen Projekts zum Customer Relationship Management nahm sie an einem zweitägigen Workshop in New Jersey teil. „Die Chance habe ich genutzt und noch fünf Tage Urlaub in New York drangehängt“, sagt sie. „Ein tolles Erlebnis mit einem besonderen Highlight: Mit einem spanischen Kollegen habe ich mir dort ein Spiel der New York Yankees angesehen.“ Ein weiteres Highlight ihrer Karriere war ein Vortrag des ehemaligen Wirtschaftsweisen Peter Bofinger mit anschließendem Abendessen. Am Tag vor der Messe transport logistic 2017 hatte Prologis Kunden zu einer Oldtimer Rallye von München bis zum Tegernsee eingeladen – dort fand dann der Vortrag statt.
 
Netzwerken gewünscht
Bei der bisherigen Entwicklung im Job haben Christina Deuß vor allem Spontaneität, Flexibilität und Zuverlässigkeit geholfen. „Die Logistikimmobilienbranche ist ein People‘s Business“, sagt sie. „Netzwerke bilden und auf Menschen zugehen ist sehr wichtig – bei bestehenden und neuen Kunden ebenso wie bei der Grundstückssuche.“ Die Gelegenheit zum Kontaktausbau nutzt das Prologis Team gern auch auf Messen – vor allem bei Events am Abend, losgelöst vom Arbeitsalltag. „Da herrscht dann eine andere Atmosphäre“, sagt Christina Deuß. „Ungezwungene und spontane Gespräche mit Kunden und Maklern resultieren oft in kreative Lösungen. Dieser lockere Austausch ist daher wichtig in der Branche.“

Und was schätzt sie sonst noch an Prologis? Das Unternehmen hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt, ist moderner geworden und legt großen Wert auf innovative, nachhaltige Lösungen ganz im Sinne der Kunden. „Unser Team ist sehr aufgeschlossen und offen für Neues“, sagt sie. „Die flachen Hierarchien vereinfachen die Arbeit und das Miteinander. Es ist ausdrücklich gewünscht, die eigene Meinung zu äußern. Ich bin dankbar, dass Prologis mir die Möglichkeit gibt, mich weiterzuentwickeln und ich bin sehr gespannt auf die nächsten 10 Jahre.“